Week 6 – Cause and Action

Week 6 – the last week including tutor led workshops.

Repeat Pattern – Amy’s Workshop.

Secondary Image – 26/04/2021

Inserted above, is a secondary sourced image found on Pinterest. I used this image as a starting point for ideas creating my repeat pattern design. My initial idea was to use marine animals that are drastically affected by plastic pollution, to show the species and to insert text/facts in the white empty space. Using similar colours of green/blue to connect with the oceanic aura.

These images reflect on the first steps of the progress, sketching out the figure and structure of a turtle species with bubbles (using a HB pencil) – displaying an under water atmosphere. On an A6 white/plain piece of cartridge paper – thicker material and density then ordinary printing paper. The drawing shown above was inspired by my secondary image above and it is going to be my first motif (motif 1) out of 2 motif designs.

Progressing further, I added light shades of water colour onto the pencil sketch so it would stand out better. I used; blue, green and brown watercolours, black fine liner for any finer details (eyes, shadows and darker areas) and a fine white pen (for highlights and lighter tones). So far, I am satisfied with the work and it is appearing as I envisioned.

In these primary images displayed above, it indicates the process of the second motif creation. For this motif, I sketched out another turtle facing the opposite direction in a birds eye view. I used the same materials and media as the first turtle motif – blue and green watercolours, black and white fine liner and a HB pencil for any initial sketching. Up to this stage, I am pleased with the two motif designs and they b0th clearly relate and link to my ‘marine plastic pollution’ themed project. To elaborate, I used a scalpel and a ruler to measure out the exact width and height of the paper so I am able to accurately cut the design. To remove any white, empty space, I added subtle waves and bubbles surrounding the turtle species so there is more colour on the repeat pattern.

Plaster Casting – Mike’s Workshop.

The next tutor led workshop is focused on plaster casting and using clay to produce a three-dimensional piece relating to my topic. Materials – I used a wooden block to work onto. A rolling pin so the clay material would be evenly flat and the surface would be equal. Rubber gloves – to protect my hands from the clay and to keep my hands clean. Lastly, I used letters spelling out the word ‘PLASTIC’ in a range of different fonts and sizes. Looking into this workshop, I am interested to see the outcome and process of my product as I have never worked with plaster casting and clay before. So, it will be fascinating to see what I produce within an unexperienced technique.

On my design plaster casting – I created a three-dimensional turtle shape to place in the centre of the clay. The base of the clay piece is a circular shape as I wanted to peruse with the rounded and curved shapes – almost looking like a bubble design (no geometrical shapes/lines). Then, on the empty space of the clay I placed my chosen ‘PLASTIC’ letters backwards to the mould later on would appear readable and the right way around. I inserted lettering so I could include a sense of imagery moulding and wording – graphic design feel. To add texture, I used a triangular shaped brush for the shell base of the turtle and a piece of netting so there would be more details and features. Up to this stage, I am pleased with my so far outcome of my plaster casting experiment. I have not experienced any set backs or struggles.

In these primary photographs, I have filled the plaster liquid into my piece. Making sure the plaster fills all the areas and cracks of the design. I had to create a thick, tall wall around my design so the plaster could get held up. To make the plaster liquid, I mixed approximately the same amount of water and plaster powder together to create a thick liquefied material.

Displayed above, is a collection of primary images taken with an iPhone camera of my final plaster casting outcome. Overall, I am pleased with my final piece as the turtle carving and details are clear. The letters are extremely readable and stand out well on top of the plaster mould. Throughout this workshop, I have experienced no difficulties or set backs. To improve this piece, I could add colour – adding watercolours or acrylic paints so the light yellow shaded colour is covered. Personally, I enjoyed this workshop and seeing the process and the outcome as I usually prefer working digitally so it was fascinating using an opposite technique.

Dark Room, Photography – Dave’s Workshop.

Secondary sourced images found on Pinterest – used for research purposes only. All these images inspired me by using solid and lighter materials to show the contrast of lighting through a collection of objects.

Looking onto this workshop, I am interested into what I produced and the process of dark room photography as I have never used this technique before.

For my photo, I collected a range of materials – mainly shells, starfish so it reflects onto my oceanic and marine inspired theme. I used these materials as they would create solid shapes due to the solidness of the material – no light let through.

Then, I used a sheet of acetate and a dark marker pen to add some text and primary imagery. The text is from pages of my sketchbook, taken from newspaper articles (secondary sourced). Also, I added some phrases; ‘SAVE OUR OCEANS’ – the use of the personal pronoun ‘OUR’ indicates it is everyones issue and everyone needs to pay a part to help prevent the cause and increase of plastic pollution. So far, I am pleased with the acetate as this expands on my graphic styled theme I am influenced by.

Primary Images, taken with an iPhone – 28/04/2021

This is my final sample experimenting with the dark room techniques. Overall; I used the sheet of acetate to produce the collection of text, leaves, smaller plants and three larger flowers. In my opinion, I am pleased with my outcome as there is a combination of floral shapes contrasting with the block text and phrases. To improve this, I could use a wider collection of either text or shapes to fill in any white, empty space. Out of the whole final piece, I am most satisfied by the flowers and the text – how the flower (bottom, left) is extremely texturised and the minor details are clearly visible. How the block text and the outlined text are contrasted together in different fonts and sizes so all of the phrases aren’t the same – creates depth.

Repeat Pattern – Amy’s Workshop

Carrying on from the first repeat pattern workshop, I photocopied the design three more times and used masking tape to attach the 4 sheets together – so the turtle design would match and fit with each other and a large repeat pattern is produced. To develop the pattern, I then photo copied the attached four sheets again four times and kept on repeating this process so there would be more patterns.

Every-time I photocopied a sheet, I decreased the zoom so the pattern would be smaller and be able to hold more of the design. Starting off with 100%, 70%, 50% then 25% for the smallest repeat pattern. At first, I was confused on the photocopying process on the printing but after a few repeats, I was comfortable with the stages.

Final Samples

Shown above, is a display of images of my final repeat pattern outcomes. Overall, I am pleased and satisfied with my artwork as it is clearly linked to my marine and oceanic themed chosen movement. The colour arrangement is; blue, green, black, brown and white – the majority of these colours are for the turtle species, blue is for the bubbles and wave aesthetic surrounding the motifs to fill any large white space areas. The background is a white colour, so the designs are bold and eye-catching with no distractions. Looking at the design, to improve it – I could upload it onto a software program and remove the black lines and add any text or key facts to promote recycling.

Primary Images, taken with an iPhone – 29/04/2021

Printing press – process image. An image displaying the acrylic plate getting pressed onto a sheet of my repeat pattern.

To develop the repeat patterns, I printed my dry-point etching plate onto some of the patterns and some plain cartilage paper with cut outs of the pattern stuck on. Personally, I am fond of this layering idea as last week my set target was to produce more samples and layer them. Evaluating colour – mainly, I used blue, green and black intaglio inks. On some of the prints, I mixed blue and green inks so it would create a fading of the two marine-like colours. Up to this process, I did not encounter any setbacks or difficulties.

Primary Images, taken with an iPhone – 29/04/2021

This is a final primary photograph of all of my prints and repeat patterns following from two workshops (printmaking and repeat pattern). Overall, I am satisfied with the overall outcome of the collection of pieces. Looking over all the artwork, there is an on-going pattern of the colours; blue and green. This is effective as I have continued to follow a specific colour pallet and the colours clearly link to my topic I am focusing on (the on-going issue on oceanic plastic waste).

Sketchbook Pages

WEEKLY REFLECTIVE

Out of all of the tutor-led workshops this week, I enjoyed the repeat pattern workshop the most. This was due to the amount of techniques used – drawing, painting, photocopying and then assembling the designs. This was a technique that is new to me and I was fond of the step-process and seeing my final outcome. Too elaborate, I got out of this workshop; a new technique experimentation, a new base for prints, backgrounds, etc. However, the dry-point etching workshop was a familiar and existing technique of which I have already used so I was very comfortable with the resources and materials used.

Secondary Image – 26/04/2021

This secondary image (found on Pinterest, unknown artist) is what I was inspired and influenced upon for my repeat pattern. It reflects and indicates the idea of what our oceans could be like if plastic pollution wasn’t an issue – clean, healthy water and species, bright colours. This secondary image helped me to have a base idea and a starting point. Using the repeat pattern created, I could add text digitally to promote a message or meaning on the designs (layering effect). As said before, for my etching prints – I used my own primary images of plastic bottles, sub-headings, titles from newspapers and secondary sourced logos from organisations (WWF, Surfers Against Sewage) taken from Google.

Secondary images, found on Pinterest.

As stated above, all these images (range of artists/photographers) inspired me for the dark room photography. The use of a collection of random or systematic objects laid out – the different lighting influenced me to use different objects and to present my text in an a ray of formats.

Out of my produced work, I would like to develop my repeat pattern further. Using digital software to add text, facts or phrases to promote a message and encourage any viewers to reduce/decease any plastic intake. I will also remove any black lines that are distracting upon the design, using the eraser and paint tool – on Adobe software. I could also add secondary and primary sources onto it such as; photographs, cut-outs of newspapers, etc to produce a collage filled with sources gathered up from previous workshops. To expand, I could also use plastic materials surrounding shapes similar to marine animals (block shapes, no light passing through) to produce meaningful dark room photographs that send out a message.

Last week, I set myself a target to develop and produce more samples – I have successfully met my target as I have used two different techniques and brought them together (etching print onto repeat pattern) to create layering samples. Also I created more samples – dark room imagery, expanding my techniques. Next week, I am going to set my target to start producing final samples and to use work but use text/graphics to help promote plastic reduction or re-using.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started